Wolves of Winter – Wolves of Winter (2016) (New Full Album)

Published on October 1, 2016 by Seb

Wolves of Winter is a Stoner Rock trio based out of Phoenix, AZ. Their sound ranges from classic rock, to grunge, to stoner & doom and back again! Their debut S/T album is a very heavy affair that mixes desert rock, fuzz, psych and doom for one exciting ride. Opening track – Astrothoughts – is what you would expect from a band such as Wolves Of Winter. Heavy and hazy psych based riffs with great vocals to match. The one thing that makes Wolves Of Winter such an interesting band is their take on 70s Classic Doom spliced with a more modern Desert/Stoner Rock sound. There are times when the band unleashes a simple trippy riff that gives this album a delicious edge.

A New Reality – sees the band opt for a doomier laidback approach that allows the band focus on the vocals and lyrics and it’s an entertaining slice of Doom/Desert Rock. These guys have a similar sound to Witchrider who released a great album last year. Though you won’t care especially when the band start to play some classic dual guitar based riffs with impressive drumming to match. There’s nothing progressive here as most of songs run between three to four minutes in length. This is a band who has written a true rock and roll album that’s built for two things. Entertainment and high octane riffs. Fans of QOTSA may also get a kick from this album especially on songs such as Tooth And Nail.

The Blind Leading The Blind is a cool, sombre and heavy as heck song that creates a doomy desert rock vibe you’ll find very hard to resist. It’s purely an instrumental affair that captures some of the albums more reflective and heaviest moments. One of the loudest songs on the album – Devil’s Kiss – sees the band unleash a torrent of violent noises. It starts off rather innocently enough but about two minutes in, the band turn into dangerous psychedelic thrash based riffsters. I didn’t expect that at all. A very strange song to include on the album but it’s good to see Wolves Of Winter turning into a more fearsome unit.

Wolves Of Winter’s debut album is an excellent album that will appeal to both fans of the Doom/Stoner Metal genres. These guys are already getting a great reputation and fanbase within the Doom/Stoner Metal community and I can see these guys only getting bigger once they release this album. Check this out as Wolves Of Winter deserve the recognition coming their way.

1. Astrothoughts – 0:00
2. A New Reality – 3:46
3. Tooth and Nail – 6:58
4. Start of the Season – 10:39
5. Blind Leading the Blind – 13:18
6. Devil’s Kiss – 17:00
7. Rubber Band – 19:48
8. Child’s Reasoning – 22:50
9. Manipulation – 27:37
10. Try Till Dead – 30:24

Wolves of Winter:
Josh McGee – Vocals, Guitar
Mike Horn – Drums
David Weaver – Bass


no comment

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.

CAPTCHA * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.